Categories
travel

(T)all in a days work

Dubai is a city of the future with its stupendous skyscrapers and massive mall. It’s also one of the hottest places I’ve ever been to which makes sense seeing as its planted smack bang in the Arabian desert. I spent less than 24 hours in the city as a break between two long haul flights, with little to no sleep and a determination to see as much as I could in the shortest time possible.

My start was not promising. I had assumed that as soon as I landed in Dubai I would be able to board the metro. However, my naïve brain had not checked the timings for Fridays, in which the metro does not open until 10am. I then, cluelessly, had misunderstood the map and instead of heading to the creek, ended up on the outskirts of an industrial part of the city. However, my jetlagged brain had at least allowed me to see the city and get my bearings.

Rather clichély, my favourite part of the day was at dusk when I headed up to the top of the Burj Khalifa to watch the sunset. It was rather mind-blowing looking down from the highest building on earth and watching the ant-like people meander around the city. An even bigger cherry on top was that I had managed to time it with the Dubai fountain show and so was able to watch it light up from the aerial view point.

My top 5 recommendations in Dubai:

  1. Burj Khalifa – I recommend booking a sunset slot!
  2. Dubai Mall & Fountain – Shopping heaven & pretty sculptures.
  3. Dubai Creek
  4. Palm Jumeirah – the tourist haven!
  5. Dubai Marina

Leave a comment